Become a Member

Join other educators to advance social studies education in the state of Arkansas.

Click Here to -> Join ACSS

Arkansas Council for the Social Studies

Now is the time to register for the Arkansas Curriculum Conference (November 2-4) in Little Rock!  ACC will include almost 50 presentations by social studies professionals in our state, a short course on Wednesday that includes a visit with one of the Little Rock Nine, and the ACSS luncheon.  This year's speaker will be Nancy Hendricks, who will bring her knowledge of women in Arkansas history to educate and entertain ACSS luncheon participants.  Also, all attendees at the 2016 ACSS luncheon at ACC will be eligible to win a new Chromebook.  You can find a sample of Dr. Hendricks' work below and the link to register HERE

Updates and Announcements 

Deadline for ACSS Award Nominations is 

Sept. 30, 2016! 

Congratulations to our ACSS 2015 Award Winners:

  • K-8 Teacher of the Year - Amber Dumond, Blytheville School District
  • 9-12 Teacher of the Year - Cissy Dowdy, Southside School District
  • University Educator of the Year - Dr. Kristin Mann, UALR
  • Member of the Year - Dustin Seaton, Prairie Grove School District
  • Friend of Social Studies - John Way - Retired Public School Teacher
  • Marsha Coleman Novice Teacher of the Year - Olivia Lewis, Sheridan School District
  • Landreth-Blair $500 Grant Winners: Anne Minton and Melanie Nations, Prairie Grove & Jon Newman and Allyson Goodin, Jonesboro High School


This site is dedicated to Arkansas social studies educators. Members of Arkansas Council for the Social Studies include elementary, middle and secondary, private and public, university professors and instructors, school administrators, and non-educational professionals who recognize the importance of a strong social studies background for our young citizens.
Fill out my online form.
There are tons of Wufoo features to help make your forms awesome.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software